Le vaste Nord canadien abrite des paysages sans précédent au monde. Cette terre intacte et sauvage peut sembler désolée à l'œil indifférent, mais elle regorge en fait de vie—des espèces d'animaux et de plantes robustes qui ont non seulement réussi à résister à l'un des environnements les plus impitoyables de la Terre, mais aussi à y prospérer.

 

Le majestueux ours polaire se distingue parmi la faune du Nord. Longtemps admiré par les gens et redouté par ses proies, cet animal est le plus grand prédateur terrestre de la planète et un véritable témoignage des merveilles de la sélection naturelle. Il est tout à fait normal que ce champion incontesté des écosystèmes arctiques et subarctiques soit l'emblème durable du Grand Nord.

 

Rejoignez le célèbre photographe naturaliste Michel Grandmaison lors de son voyage à Churchill, dans le nord du Manitoba, au Canada, alors qu'il s'aventure dans la patrie de l'ours polaire. Combinant de superbes photographies avec des faits éclairants sur ces animaux et leur environnement, The Polar Bear: Lord of the Great North captivera à coup sûr tous ceux qui souhaitent regarder de plus près ces créatures fascinantes.

The Polar Bear: Lord of the Great North

29,95C$Prix
  • Photographies: Michel Grandmaison

  • Beau livre, pour tout âge

    Couverture rigide

    8,5 po X 11 po

    120 pages | Couleur

    ISBN 978-1-988182-50-6

The vast Canadian North is home to sights unparalleled in the world. This unspoiled and untamed land may appear desolate to the undiscerning eye, but it in fact abounds with life— hardy species of animals and plants that have not merely managed to withstand one of the most unforgiving environments on Earth, but indeed to thrive within it.

 

Notable among the North’s wildlife is the majestic polar bear. Long held in awe by people and dreaded by its prey, this animal is the planet’s largest land predator and truly a testament to the wonders of natural selection. It is only befi tting that this undisputed champion of the Arctic and Subarctic ecosystems has become an enduring emblem of the Great White North.

 

Join celebrated nature photographer Mike Grandmaison on his journey to Churchill, in Northern Manitoba, Canada, as he ventures into the homeland of the polar bear. Combining superb photographs with enlightening facts on these animals and their environment, The Polar Bear: Lord of the Great North is sure to captivate anyone eager to take a closer look at these fascinating creatures.

The Polar Bear: Lord of the Great North

C$29.95Price
  • Photography: Mike Grandmaison

  • Hardcover

    8.5 in X 11 in 

    120 pages | colour 

    ISBN 978-1-988182-50-6

Contact us/Send

a purchase order

 

Vidacom Publications

Tel: 204-235-0078

Fax: 204-233-7741

info@vidacom.ca

We Accept

  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean

The publisher gratefully acknowledges the support of the Canada Council for the Arts and the Manitoba Arts Council for its publishing program. We acknowledge the support of the Government of Canada through the Canada Book Fund and the Government of Manitoba through the Publishing Tax Credit Program for our publishing activities.

© 2018 Vidacom Publications