Voici un livre réellement unique. Il offre un aperçu incomparable des expériences et de l'histoire de plus d'une centaine d'Aînés des Premières Nations et métis du Nord canadien—« la dernière génération née sur la Terre ». Ces superbes portraits au crayon graphite sont dessinés avec amour, respect et minutie, ainsi que les profils intimes captivants reflètent au plus près de la réalité les récits oraux et les anecdotes.

 

Leurs traits poignants, leurs lignes et leurs plis patinés par les conditions extérieures difficiles et une vie de défis, sont comme des insignes de leurs réalisations remarquables, de leur détermination soutenue, de leur patience inspirante et de leur défi profond envers les épreuves que leur peuple a endurées pendant des générations.

 

Le réalisme magistral du travail de Kuehl aide à découvrir les histoires de ces individus chevronnés—leurs nombreux triomphes et épreuves—révélant à leur tour un meilleur portrait de la vie dans les communautés du nord du Canada, un hommage convaincant et un héritage historique durable.

Portraits of the North

SKU : 0004
35,00C$Prix

This is a truly unique book. It offers an incomparable glimpse into the experiences and history of more than one hundred First Nations and Métis elders from Canada's North —“the last generation born on the land.” These stunning graphite pencil portraits are rendered with love, respect, and painstaking detail, along with gripping intimate profiles assembled from oral accounts and anecdotes.

Their poignant facial features, lines, and creases, weathered by the harsh outdoors and a lifetime of challenges, are like badges of their remarkable achievements, sustained resolve, inspired patience, and deep-set defiance to the hardships their people have endured for generations.
The masterful realism of Kuehl’s work helps uncover the tales of these seasoned individuals—their many triumphs and trials—revealing in turn a greater portrait of life in the communities of Northern Canada, a compelling homage, and an enduring historical legacy.

Portraits of the North

SKU: 0004
C$35.00Price

Contact us/Send

a purchase order

 

Vidacom Publications

Tel: 204-235-0078

Fax: 204-233-7741

info@vidacom.ca

We Accept

  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean

The publisher gratefully acknowledges the support of the Canada Council for the Arts and the Manitoba Arts Council for its publishing program. We acknowledge the support of the Government of Canada through the Canada Book Fund and the Government of Manitoba through the Publishing Tax Credit Program for our publishing activities.

© 2018 Vidacom Publications